8 weeks Post-Op TKR

Published January 24, 2016 by Tracey

Well, I had hoped to continue my positive improvement but this last week has been a tough one.  My friends and family have to keep telling me that it has only been 2 months. I am just a little impatient.  I have to be reminded that I had a revision from a partial to a total knee, along with a stress fracture.  The problem is, between the 2 knees, I have had minimum 10….yes 1-0; TEN…..surgeries.  Everything from simple meniscus and debridement to lateral releases and patella realignment.  I keep thinking I should be all better or at least on a continual improvement path as in others.

bumpy road

 

Recovery can be easy or it can have many ups and downs.  I am fully aware, as I have been through the easy, the long and the bumpy roads.

Since, there is no brace and my incision is looking great I just want to feel better!!  Nope- a TKR can take a year.

 

So, what is happening 8 weeks out?

My knee has been really hot and sore.  I don’t think sore covers it actually.  Painful.  I have been taking Advil and recently my docor said I can try this topical pain ointment called Pennsaid,  It is so painful- if I had pain killers I wouldn’t hesitate.  Trust me that is saying something as I don’t take pain meds when I am supposed to.

It is still swollen which accounts for some of the heat and pain.  Yes, this can be normal. It feels like my bending has decreased again but maybe that is my  imagination. Sleeping is rough again too.  The weight of the blankets on my leg when I try to move puts too much pressure on the knee.  The worst thing though is how painful it is when I am standing/ walking for any amount of time.  A simple trip to the store is tiring and then causes afterpain.  Standing for an hour is about all I can do.   The pain is more in the back of my leg/ knee.  I keep massaging it- hoping maybe it is some ligament/ tendon that is just too tight.

I am hoping that I can get back into physical therapy.  I do my exercises at home but I am hoping the structure and encouragement of PT will assist. I don’t have a bike or pool access at home which I feel would help immensely.

So what is my goal?  This probably should of been mentioned early on in my blog.  Just turning 48 this week I have always been active.  Most people would be happy at the progress thus far, but not I.  Being a mother of a 5 year old and loving sports I need to be able to do physical activities.  I work as a chemist and a bartender, therefore being on my feet for an extended amount of times is common.

It is a long recovery….I can do it…..YOU can do it.  Have Patience and Keep Moving.

pain

 

 

Leave a comment